TuitionScope

Methodology

Everything on TuitionScope comes from public U.S. government data. This page documents where each number comes from, which colleges are included and exactly how every calculated figure is derived, so you can check our work.

Scorecard release
June 10, 2026
Data version
v3.6.1
Colleges covered
2,567
Colleges with program data
2,336

Data source

The data comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard: the “Most Recent Cohorts” institution-level file and the “Most Recent Cohorts” field-of-study file, release of June 10, 2026 (data version 3.6.1). The Scorecard combines data that colleges report through IPEDS, federal student aid records and earnings drawn from tax records.

The Scorecard is published as open government data. We credit the Department of Education as the source, show the data period for each figure and do not imply any endorsement.

We never edit values by hand. Before each release every value on every college page is checked against the raw Scorecard file, and a value that is blank in the source cannot appear on the site.

Which colleges are included

We include a school only if it passes every filter below. The table shows how many institutions remain after each step.

  • It is currently operating (CURROPER = 1) and participates in federal student aid (OPEFLAG 1, 2 or 3).
  • Its predominant degree is associate or bachelor's (PREDDEG 2 or 3) and its highest degree is at least associate (HIGHDEG 2 or more).
  • It is classified as 4-year or 2-year (ICLEVEL 1 or 2) and is located in one of the 50 states or Washington, D.C.
  • It reports a cost figure (net price or cost of attendance) and at least one of: an admission rate, open admission or earnings data. This keeps every page substantive.
Number of institutions remaining after each filter (June 2026 release)
Filter stepInstitutions
All institutions in the Scorecard file6,273
Currently operating (CURROPER = 1)6,243
Participates in federal student aid (OPEFLAG 1, 2 or 3)6,164
Mostly associate or bachelor's degrees, highest degree associate or higher2,849
Classified as 4-year or 2-year2,849
Located in the 50 states or Washington, D.C.2,782
Has cost data plus admission or earnings data (included on this site)2,567

Included: 2,567 colleges. By level, 2,007 four-year and 560 two-year. By control, 1,168 public, 1,155 private nonprofit and 244 private for-profit. 2,336 have program-level earnings.

How each metric is calculated

Each formula is implemented once, in code shared by our data build, our data validator and the site, so the numbers you see are the numbers we tested. Amounts are in U.S. dollars. Calculated values are rounded as stated below.

Net price (average per year)

The average yearly cost after grants and scholarships.

netPrice = NPT4_PUB (public) or NPT4_PRIV (private) if missing: NPT4_PROG, then NPT4_OTHER

  • Net price is the cost of attendance minus grant and scholarship aid, as the school reports it, for first-time, full-time undergraduates who received federal aid.
  • For public schools the figure is based on in-state tuition and fees.
  • Negative or invalid dollar values are treated as missing.

Net price by family income

Average net price in five family-income brackets.

NPT41 … NPT45 (_PUB or _PRIV) brackets: $0–30,000 · $30,001–48,000 · $48,001–75,000 · $75,001–110,000 · over $110,000

  • Shown only when at least 3 of the 5 brackets have a value.
  • Small brackets may be missing; we show only what the Scorecard reports.

Estimated total net cost

What a full degree would cost at today's net price.

total = round(netPrice × 4) for 4-year schools total = round(netPrice × 2) for 2-year schools

  • Assumes on-time completion (4 years for a bachelor's, 2 for an associate) and today's price held constant, with no tuition increases or inflation.
  • Shown only when net price is above zero. Your actual cost depends on your aid, housing and time to degree.

Debt-to-earnings ratio

Median debt of graduates compared with their yearly earnings.

debtToEarnings = GRAD_DEBT_MDN_SUPP ÷ MD_EARN_WNE_4YR rounded to 3 decimals; shown only when earnings are above zero

  • GRAD_DEBT_MDN_SUPP is the median federal loan debt of students who completed. MD_EARN_WNE_4YR is their median earnings 4 years after completing.
  • A ratio of 0.5 means the median debt is half of the median yearly earnings.

Loan payment as a share of earnings

Yearly loan payments compared with yearly earnings.

paymentShare = (GRAD_DEBT_MDN10YR_SUPP × 12) ÷ MD_EARN_WNE_4YR rounded to 3 decimals; shown only when earnings are above zero

  • GRAD_DEBT_MDN10YR_SUPP is the Scorecard's median monthly loan payment assuming a 10-year standard repayment plan.
  • Actual payments under income-driven plans can differ.

Payback period

Years of earnings above a high-school graduate's needed to cover the total net cost.

premium = MD_EARN_WNE_4YR − EARN_THR_STATE paybackYears = totalNetCost ÷ premium (rounded to 1 decimal) shown only when premium is at least $2,000

  • MD_EARN_WNE_4YR (median earnings of completers 4 years after completing) and EARN_THR_STATE (median earnings of high-school graduates in the school's state, from the American Community Survey) are both in 2024 dollars, so their difference is meaningful.
  • It leaves out income forgone while studying, interest, taxes and changes in aid.
  • The 10-years-after-entry earnings measure (MD_EARN_WNE_P10) is in 2022 dollars, so it is never used here.
  • It illustrates scale. It is not a forecast for any individual.

Peer percentile

Where a college stands among its peers.

percentile = round(100 × peers with a lower value ÷ peers with a value)

  • Peers share the same level (4-year or 2-year) and control (public, private nonprofit, private for-profit).
  • A percentile appears only when the peer group has at least 30 colleges with a value for that measure.
  • Measures: net price, earnings, graduation rate, debt and admission rate. Ties are not counted as lower.
  • A percentile shows position, not quality. A high percentile for net price means a higher price.

Peer groups and similar colleges

Peer comparisons (for example, “cheaper than 72% of public four-year colleges”) use groups defined by level (4-year or 2-year) and control (public, private nonprofit or private for-profit), counting only the colleges on this site.

The six similar colleges on each profile are chosen by distance in net price (or cost of attendance when net price is missing), earnings and enrollment size: four from the same state and two from other states, all of the same level and control, and, for the out-of-state picks, the same Carnegie classification when known.

Data periods

Each Scorecard variable covers its own period. The Department publishes that period in its data dictionary (the “Most Recent Cohorts” map). The table lists the variables used on this site with the Department's own wording, and each page shows the period beside the figure it describes.

Mixed periods are normal: costs describe a recent academic year, while earnings follow students who completed their studies several years ago.

Data periods and dollar basis for the variables shown on this site
MeasureScorecard variableData period (Scorecard wording)Dollars
Net price NPT4_PUB · NPT4_PRIV AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 Nominal (as reported)
Net price by income NPT41_PUB … NPT45_PRIV AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 Nominal (as reported)
Cost of attendance COSTT4_A · COSTT4_P AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 Nominal (as reported)
Tuition and fees TUITIONFEE_IN · TUITIONFEE_OUT AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 Nominal (as reported)
Books, room and board, other expenses BOOKSUPPLY · ROOMBOARD_ON/OFF · OTHEREXPENSE_ON/OFF AcadYr 2024-25, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 Nominal (as reported)
Acceptance rate and open admission ADM_RATE_SUPP · OPENADMP Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
SAT range SATVR25–75 · SATMT25–75 Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
ACT range ACTCM25–75 Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
Test policy ADMCON7 Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
Graduation rate (4-year schools) C150_4_POOLED_SUPP Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 pooled with previous years (# of total pooled years found in POOLYRS) —
Graduation rate (2-year schools) C150_L4_POOLED_SUPP Fall 2021 or AcadYr 2021-22 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 pooled with previous years (# of total pooled years found in POOLYRS) —
Retention rate (4-year schools) RET_FT4_POOLED_SUPP Fall 2023 bachelor's-seeking cohort, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 pooled with previous years (# of total pooled years found in POOLYRSRET_FT) —
Retention rate (2-year schools) RET_FTL4_POOLED_SUPP Fall 2023 cohort, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 pooled with previous years (# of total pooled years found in POOLYRSRET_FT) —
Earnings 1 year after completing MD_EARN_WNE_1YR Treasury AY2018-19, AY2019-20 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars 2022 dollars
Earnings 4 years after completing MD_EARN_WNE_4YR Treasury AY2017-18, AY2018-19 pooled cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars 2024 dollars
High-school graduate earnings (state) EARN_THR_STATE 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, adjusted to 2024 dollars 2024 dollars
Median debt of graduates GRAD_DEBT_MDN_SUPP NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts Nominal (as reported)
Median monthly loan payment GRAD_DEBT_MDN10YR_SUPP NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts Nominal (as reported)
3-year default rate CDR3 FSA FY2022 cohort measured in FY2024 —
Enrollment and student-faculty ratio UGDS · PPTUG_EF · STUFACR Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
Pell Grant and federal loan shares PCTPELL · PCTFLOAN AcadYr 2023-24, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
Race, ethnicity and gender of undergraduates UGDS_WHITE … UGDS_UNKN · UGDS_MEN · UGDS_WOMEN Fall 2024, reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
Share of undergraduates aged 25 or older UG25ABV Fall 2023, reported in IPEDS —
Fields of study (share of degrees by two-digit CIP) PCIP01 … PCIP54 AY2024-25 completions, reported in IPEDS —
Completion rate by group (150% of normal time) C150_4_WHITE … C150_4_ASIAN · C150_4_PELL · C150_L4_PELL Fall 2018 or AcadYr 2018-19 cohort (differs by institutional calendar), reported in IPEDS DCY2024-25 —
Earnings 10 years after entry (all entrants) MD_EARN_WNE_P10 · PCT25_EARN_WNE_P10 · PCT75_EARN_WNE_P10 · MD_EARN_WNE_INC1–3_P10 · MD_EARN_WNE_MALE1/0_P10 Treasury AY2009-10, AY2010-11 pooled cohort measured in CY2020, CY2021, inflation adjusted to 2022 dollars 2022 dollars
Median debt by group PELL_DEBT_MDN · FIRSTGEN_DEBT_MDN · LO/MD/HI_INC_DEBT_MDN · MALE_DEBT_MDN NSLDS FY2020, FY2021 pooled cohorts Nominal (as reported)
Repayment status one year after entering repayment BBRR1_FED_UG_* AY2018-19 and AY2019-20 pooled cohorts, one year after entering repayment (NSLDS) —
Programs (field of study) EARN_MDN_4YR · EARN_MDN_1YR · DEBT_ALL_STGP_EVAL_MDN Field-of-study file, same release. Cohort years vary by program; see the Scorecard field-of-study documentation. See Scorecard documentation

Extended profile data

Each college page can also show five groups of Scorecard data beyond the headline numbers: who attends, the fields students study, outcomes by student group, how borrowers are doing in repayment, and richer program tables. We show a block only when the college has published all of its numbers.

  • Who attends: shares of degree-seeking undergraduates by race and ethnicity and by gender (Fall 2024), and the share aged 25 or older (Fall 2023), as published by IPEDS. Race and gender shares must add to roughly 100% or we hide the block.
  • What students study: the largest two-digit CIP families by share of degrees and certificates awarded in academic year 2024-25 (up to eight, each at least 1%), named with the CIP 2020 series titles.
  • Completion by group: the share completing within 150% of normal time for White, Black, Hispanic and Asian students and Pell Grant recipients, for one entering cohort. We show a group only when the Scorecard reports it; the overall rate beside it pools several cohorts.
  • Earnings ten years after entry: median and 25th to 75th percentile earnings of all students who entered the college, graduates or not, in 2022 dollars. This is a different measure from earnings four years after completing (graduates only, 2024 dollars), and we never put the two in one comparison or chart. We hide the block unless the 25th percentile, median and 75th percentile are in order.
  • Debt by group: median federal loan debt for Pell and non-Pell students, first-generation and other students, three family-income bands, and men and women. Pairs are shown only when both values exist.
  • Repayment status: the share of federal-loan borrowers in each of eight statuses one year after entering repayment (AY2018-19 and AY2019-20 cohorts pooled). Shown only for colleges with at least 30 borrowers whose eight shares add to about 100%.

Our inconsistent-data policy: we drop a block when its numbers do not add up, for example shares that total far from 100%, or a 25th percentile above the median. We would rather show nothing than something that contradicts itself. Small groups the Scorecard suppresses for privacy never appear. For program rows, the sample size is the number of graduates behind the earnings figure; rows with fewer than 30 are marked “small sample” because the Scorecard adds privacy noise to program figures.

Nominal and inflation-adjusted dollars

Dollar figures are not all in the same year's dollars, and we do not convert them ourselves.

  • Cost figures (net price, tuition and fees, cost of attendance, room and board) and debt are nominal: dollars of the year reported, not adjusted for inflation.
  • Earnings 4 years after completing are adjusted by the Department to 2024 dollars; earnings 1 year after completing are in 2022 dollars.
  • The state high-school graduate earnings figure is in 2024 dollars.

Calculations combine only figures that are comparable: the payback period divides a net cost by the difference between two 2024-dollar earnings figures.

Missing and suppressed data

We never fill in, estimate or impute a missing value.

  • PS (privacy suppressed): the Department withholds the figure because the group is too small. We show “Not shown: group too small (privacy)” where the value would be.
  • NA, NULL or blank: not reported or not applicable. We show “Not reported”, or hide the whole section when nothing is available.
  • Where the Scorecard publishes a small-group-suppressed series (columns ending in _SUPP), we use it for admission rate, graduation rate, retention, debt and monthly payment. We fall back to the unsuppressed series only when the suppressed one is NA, never when it is PS.
  • Negative dollar amounts and rates outside 0–100% are treated as missing.
  • Schools with open admission have no admission rate; we show “open admission” instead.

Branch campuses

The Department reports earnings, debt and some other outcomes for the whole institution, identified by its 6-digit federal ID (OPEID6). Branch campuses that share that ID show the same figures as the main campus, and their pages carry a note saying so. Read those numbers as describing the institution, not the individual campus.

Program (field-of-study) outcomes are also reported at the OPEID6 level.

Limitations

  • Statistics describe groups of past students. Your own cost, earnings and debt will depend on your major, aid, location and choices.
  • Each Scorecard measure covers specific groups of students (for example, federal aid recipients or first-time, full-time students) and may not represent every student. The Scorecard documentation defines the group for each variable.
  • Earnings are medians for graduates who are working and not enrolled. They exclude people who are not working or are in further study.
  • Cost figures reflect a past academic year. Current prices may be higher.
  • Total net cost assumes on-time completion; many students take longer.
  • Nothing here ranks quality or guarantees a return on investment.

Update schedule

The Department of Education updates the Scorecard several times a year. TuitionScope is a snapshot: we rebuild the site when we adopt a new release, and every page states the release it uses. Today that is the June 2026 release (version 3.6.1). Figures do not change between releases.

For each release we download the raw files, record their checksums, rebuild all data, re-run validation and review what changed (added and removed schools and the largest value changes) before publishing.

Corrections policy

We correct mistakes in our own calculations, labels and translations as soon as we confirm them. Email info@tuitionscope.com with the page address and the figure in question; we compare it with the raw Scorecard file and reply.

If the error is in the Scorecard data itself, the school must correct its federal reporting, and the fix appears in a later release. See contact for details.

If we ever make a material correction to a published figure or formula, we will list it on this page with the date.

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, June 2026 release (version 3.6.1, published June 10, 2026). TuitionScope is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Department of Education.